News and Announcements News and Announcements

An Open Invitation To Our Australia Day Awards Celebration

Council has issued an open invitation to its 2019 Australia Day Awards to be presented in conjunction with a citizenship ceremony on Thursday 24 January.

The awards, at The Centre Beaudesert, will celebrate the community champions and quiet achievers who make the Scenic Rim such a great place to live. The citizenship ceremony will officially welcome our newest Australians to the region and marks 70 years since Australian citizenship was introduced into law.

Scenic Rim Acting Mayor Rick Stanfield said the 2019 Australia Day Awards provided an opportunity to recognise the significant contributions of community groups and citizens of all ages.

"This is about shining a spotlight on those who so often work behind the scenes without reward or recognition," he said.

"It's one night of the year to thank our community champions and the quiet achievers whose year-round contribution to their communities makes this such a great part of Australia."

The awards and citizenship celebration on Thursday 24 January begins at 5pm for a 5.30pm start at The Centre Beaudesert and includes light refreshments and entertainment by guitarist Greg Copeland and local bush poet Nerelie Teese with an appearance by Australia Day Ambassador, entrepreneur Steve Baxter, best known for his Shark Tank Australia role.

Cr Stanfield said that new citizens taking their pledge on 24 January will receive a special Commemorative 70th Anniversary coin.

"Interestingly, it was only on Australia Day,1949, that the concept of Australian citizenship came into being. On January 26 that year, the Nationality and Citizenship Act of 1948 took effect, introducing a unique national identity for Australians beyond their previous status as British subjects," he said.

Those wishing to accept Council's invitation to the Australia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony have only until Friday 18 January to RSVP by phone on 5540 5399 or email

The 2019 Scenic Rim Australia Day Awards will be presented across four categories:

  • Community Event of the Year Award for the individual, group or organisation which has staged the most outstanding community event in the Scenic Rim region between 30 November 2017 and 30 November 2018
  • Citizen of the Year Award, for an exceptional young person aged between 16 and 30 who is making an outstanding contribution to the Scenic Rim community. 
  • Citizen of the Year Award, for someone aged 31 to 65 who has been an inspirational role model to the Scenic Rim community over a number of years, and
  • Citizen of the Year Award for an inspirational person aged 65 and over who continues to provide outstanding service to the Scenic Rim community and presents a positive image of ageing. 

"I hope you will join us in celebrating those who make our region all that is as we also welcome our newest Australians and celebrate our nation's birthday," Cr Stanfield said.


Community Event of the Year

Light Up Beaudesert                                                                           BEAUDESERT

Canungra Sports and Recreation Grounds Turns 100                        CANUNGRA

Citizen of the Year (16-30 Years)

Miss Laura Ross                      TAMBORINE MOUNTAIN

Miss Caitlyn Hester                 ALLENVIEW

Miss Kodi Sawtell                    COOCHIN

Citizen of the Year (31-65 Years)

Mrs Christine Crowther          ROADVALE

Ms Erin Quinlan                      BEAUDESERT

Mr Nigel Allsopp                     CANUNGRA

Ms Keer Moriarty                    CANUNGRA

Ms Caroline Andrew               CANUNGRA

Citizen of the Year (65+ Years)

Mr Maurie Hansell                  BEECHMONT

Mrs June Herbohn                  GLENEAGLE

Mrs Margaret Manthey           BEAUDESERT

Ms Jeanette Lockey                TAMBORINE MOUNTAIN

Mr Keith Cogzell                      FERNY GLEN