Division 3 - Cr Stephen Moriarty

councilor moriartyElected unopposed at the 2024 local government elections, Cr Stephen (Steve) Moriarty is committed to working as part of a united council that puts the needs of ratepayers at the forefront of every decision.

At the first meeting of the 2024-2028 Council term Cr Moriarty was appointed Chair of the Local Disaster Management Group.

He has long been an active volunteer in the community and, at the time of his election, was the President of the Moriarty Park Community Sporting Centre and coordinator of the Moriarty Park Sportsperson of the Year awards, a member of the Canungra Rural Fire Brigade, a long-standing volunteer and current Beef Cattle steward at the Canungra Show, and Chairman of the Scenic Rim Uniting Church Council. 

Born and raised in Canungra, Cr Moriarty has worked as a teacher in the Scenic Rim for the past 20 years at Beaudesert State High School, Canungra State School and, most recently, McAuley College, Beaudesert.  He has taken unpaid leave from his teaching position to dedicate his time and energy to the role of Councillor. 

Continuing a family tradition in agritourism, he also operates the Sarabah Camping business, welcoming visitors to the Scenic Rim on his family's property at Sarabah which runs a few cattle and horses. 

Cr Moriarty is committed to maximising value for ratepayers, the upgrade of local roads and bridges to improve safety and cater for the region's growth and development, the provision of sporting and recreation facilities, especially for local youth, and transparency in decision making. 

Division 3

Encompasses the localities of Beechmont, Binna Burra, areas of Beaudesert, Biddaddaba, Canungra, Cainbable, Chinghee Creek, Christmas Creek, Cryna, Darlington, Ferny Glen, Flying Fox, Hillview, Illinbah, Kerry, Southern Lamington, Laravale, Nindooinbah, O'Reilly, Sarabah, Tabragalba, Tabooba, areas of Tamborine Mountain and Witheren.

Map of Council divisions