Division 1 - Cr Amanda Hay

Cr HayAs of July 2023, Cr Hay oversees the Parks, Gardens and Open
Space portfolio.

Cr Amanda Hay was elected to Council in April 2023 in a by-election following the resignation of the former Division 1 Councillor.

Originally from the Wagga Wagga area in New South Wales, Cr Hay has a semi-rural background and her employment history includes wide-ranging experience in both the private and public sectors.

As a civilian, Cr Hay served as paymaster for the Department of Defence in Canberra and Port Moresby.

She also filled officer advisory and audit roles with the Australian Taxation Office, recruitment roles with the Commonwealth Employment Service and later Employment National, before moving into compliance and investigation activities with the Department of Human Services.

During her career, Cr Hay prepared briefs of evidence for prosecutions by the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions. As an active member of the Scenic Rim community, she has assisted ratepayers with land valuation objections and with submissions relating to development applications.

Accredited by Logan TAFE, Cr Hay worked as a volunteer tutor in English as a Second Language. She has been heavily involved in community activities, firstly in Logan and, since 2009, on Tamborine Mountain.

Her interests include horticulture and the preservation of the environment and she has served as a member or committee member of several Tamborine Mountain community organisations.

Cr Hay and her partner, Stuart, reside on Tamborine Mountain.

Division 1

Division 1 encompasses Tamborine Mountain, which is known for its tourist attractions, galleries and rainforests.

Map of Council divisions